Southern is an ambient/experimental trio founded in 2010 by Patrick Copeland (Everett), Ryan Parrish (Hopesfall, In Parallel), and yours truly. Aaron Ford (Bluetip, ... And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead, The Sincerity Guild) contributed drums to our lone EP 11 Years.

Girls of the SEC

Girls of the SEC is a surf music project inspired by growing up in Panama City Beach, FL, as well as a fondness for acts like The Tornados, Santo and Johnny, and The Ventures. More at Soundcloud.

Ryan Scott Burleson

You Are All My People is a 3 song ambient music EP I recorded late in 2012. It's available on Bandcamp and can be streamed below.

Southern's "Cahaba" featured in a short about Bilenky Bikes for Bicycling Magazine .

Southern's "Wiregrass" and "Navarre" featured in SOMOS LUZ, a mini-doc by the Madrid, Spain, based art collective Boa Mistura about the foursome's time working and living in El Chorrillo, Panamá City. 

Southern's "Wiregrass" featured in "Artefact (or Ortlieb's II)," a video by director Daniel Davison documenting the abandoned Philadelphia brewery.


Mixed/Recorded Summer 2013 as a nighttime complement to the Girls of the SEC record


Datsik — Bonafide Hustler (Trap VIP)
DJ Chuckie & Silvio Ecomo — Moonbah (Afrojack Rmx - Munchi's Shoutout to Naffie VIP)
A-Trak, Dillon Francis — Money Makin' (Oliver Twizt Trap Remix)
RL Grime — Trap on Acid
Smashing Pumpkins — Zero (Le Castle Vania Remix)
Kanye West — Blood on the Leaves (Notixx Remix)
DJ Snake feat. Alesia — Bird Machine
Notorious B.I.G. — Going Back to Cali (Viceroy "Jet Life" Remix)

Samples: KTVU, Colbert Report

Recorded Fall 2011


1. Show Your Teeth — Nils Frahm & Anne Müller

2. You Always Start It — xxxy

3. Love Cry (Joy Orbison Remix) — Four Tet

4. Blind Night Errand — Mount Kimbie

5. Hookid — Morgan Zarate

6. WUT — Girl Unit

7. Night — Benga

8. Purple City — Joker & Ginz

9. Like You Mean It — Matthewdavid

10. Def Surrounds Us — DJ Shadow

11. Things Fall Apart — Zomby (Ft. Noah Lennox)

12. Try It On (Salem Remix) — Interpol

13. NYC — Burial

Other Work

Everett,  Arrival  (Come&Live), Recorded, Mixed and Mastered, 2012

Everett, Arrival (Come&Live), Recorded, Mixed and Mastered, 2012

A long, long time ago, I also played guitar in The Sincerity Guild and Embraced, both represented by Theory 8 Records.

© Ryan Scott Burleson