Other People's Songs: Damien Jurado + Richard Swift

Fresh off of their collaboration on Jurado’s recent Saint Bartlett LP, which I love, the two old souls got together for a couple of days in late August to deliver a covers collection that is definitively not made for these times, which I mean in the best way possible. It’s been on repeat for me this AM.

Other People’s Songs Vol. 1 is available now for streaming and free download.

More from the team:

Other People’s Songs Vol. 1 is a collection of covers recorded on the weekend of August 21-22, 2010 (with the aid of a four-track cassette recorder and a Coles-4038 ribbon microphone).  It is available to you (the world) via the inter-webs for FREE.  These recordings came about spontaneously, and we wanted to share them in the same manner.  Look for another one around Winter time. “Thanks, Brochacho” - DJ/RS



Damien Jurado: singing, guitars, percussion, fx

Richard Swift: singing, guitars, bass, drums, various keyboards, fx

Josh Ottum: additional guitar on “Hello Sunshine”


Recorded/Mixed by Richard Swift @ National Freedom

Mastered by Christopher Colbert @ Cobra Research Center

Photo by Sarah Jurado / Layout & Type by ONASIS


THANKS: Josh Ottum, Chris Colbert & The Swansons


“Be Not So Fearful” - Originally by Bill Fay

“Hello Sunshine” - Originally by Relatively Clean Rivers

“Sweetness” - Originally by Yes

“Sincere Replies” - Originally by Oh! Calcutta! Original Broadway Cast

“If The Sun Stops Shinin’” - Originally by Chubby Checker

“Follow Me” - Originally by John Denver

“Outside My Window” - Originally by The Fleetwoods

“Radioactivity” - Originally by Kraftwerk

“Crazy Like A Fox” - Originally by Link Cromwell & The Zoo